

Meeting Minutes June 16, 2023 West Virginia School of Osteopathic Medicine and Zoom

MEMBERS PRESENT

Lindsay Morgan WVU Parkersburg

Jane Fouty BridgeValley Community and Technical College

Amy Pitzer Concord University
Justine Bohon Fairmont State University
Jenny Boggs (Proxy) Glenville State University
Teresa Meddings Marshall University

Dee Preston Mountwest Community and Technical College
Erin Trump New River Community and Technical College
J. Christopher Gray Southern WV Community and Technical College

Michael Casey West Virginia State University

Jenna Derrico West Virginia Northern Community College Barbara Sanders West Virginia School of Osteopathic Medicine

Shirley Robinson West Virginia University

Dara Massey West Virginia University Institute of Technology

Verne Britton WVNET

MEMBERS ABSENT

Vacant Blue Ridge Community and Technical College

Deirdre Guyton Bluefield State University

Vacant Community and Technical College System of WV
Vacant Eastern WV Community and Technical College
Vacant Pierpont Community and Technical College

Vacant Shepherd University
Vacant West Liberty University
Jamey Kesner WVU Potomac State College

GUESTS

Ken Harbaugh, ACCE Emeritus Bob Long, ACCE Emeritus

Leslie Bicksler, Vice President Human Resources, West Virginia School of Osteopathic Medicine



Chair Morgan called the meeting to order at 9:00 am. The Chair determined that a quorum was present.

ADDRESS BY LESLIE BICKSLER

The Governor, legislature, and private sector officials have been touting the growth in revenues and the attraction of businesses to the state, but limited reporting has occurred relative to shortcomings. The most recent census data shows West Virginia had the largest decline in population of any state in the country, which should be a cause for concern for the state and especially for higher education. WV's population declined a 3.2%, an average decrease of .65% a year between 2015-2022, while the national population increased 7.4%, The only age group in WV that grew was 65-84 year olds, and in the past decade a total of 47,599 West Virginians ages 18-44 left the state.

MINUTES - May 2023 minutes were approved as amended.

VICE CHAIR APPOINTMENT

Chair Morgan appointed Teresa Meddings as Vice Chair to fill the vacancy through the term ending July 2023. When Lindsay Morgan's employment with WVU Parkersburg ends in the next month, Vice Chair Meddings will assume the role of Chair, finalize and share the retreat agenda, and preside over the retreat until a new slate of officers are elected for the coming term.

OLD BUSINESS

The meeting of Staff Council Chairs has been successful for the past several months. Chair Morgan will share the contact list with the new Chair and encourage continuance of the meeting every other month. A poll showed the best availability is Tuesdays at 1 pm. Until the July retreat, Chair Morgan asked Jane Fouty and Dara Massey to send out the emailed invitation and link and share an emailed summary after.

SHARED GOVERNANCE SURVEY

Chair Morgan confirmed with Matt Turner that the ACCE can still use the SurveyMonkey link for the shared governance survey. The ACCE would need to contact Melanie Baker to ensure the link is still live and accurate. ACCE would conduct its own data analytics; Jodi Vincent or other staff experts could be helpful in that effort. The ACCE plans to get more schools on board and then relaunch the effort in the fall. For schools with vacancies, the following people volunteered to reach out: Blue Ridge – Dee Preston, Eastern – Amy Pitzer, Glenville – Jenna Derrico, HEPC/CTCS – Jenna Derrico, Pierpont – Lindsay Morgan.

COMMITTEE REPORTS

Retreat Committee - The retreat will be July 24-25. The group worked together on the agenda.

The ACCE thanked the West Virginia School of Osteopathic Medicine for its hospitality. The group also thanked Christopher Gray, Lindsay Morgan, and Barbara Sanders for their service to ACCE. Christopher Gray moved to adjourn. Barbara Sanders seconded. The meeting adjourned at 2:58 pm.

Respectfully submitted, Jenna Derrico, ACCE Secretary