

Meeting Minutes August 30, 2021 Via Zoom 9:00 a.m.

## **MEMBERS PRESENT**

Jenna Derrico Amy Pitzer Teresa Meddings **Deirdre Guyton** Verne Britton **Barbara Sanders** Jane Fouty Shirley Robinson Mary Beth Myers **Dee Preston** Erin Trump Yodev Ocasio Michael Casey Dara Massey Lindsay Morgan Michele Lang Robin Yeager

## **MEMBERS ABSENT**

Hope Spriggs Vacant LeeAnn Shreve Vacant Vacant Michael Cannon

## **GUESTS**

Ken Harbaugh Bob Long Matt Turner Trish Humphries Michelle Stark West Virginia Northern Community College **Concord University** Southern West Virginia Community & Technical College Bluefield State College **WVNET** West Virginia School of Osteopathic Medicine BridgeValley Community & Technical College West Virginia University Shepherd University Mountwest Community & Technical College New River Community and Technical College West Liberty University West Virginia State University West Virginia University Institute of Technology WVU Parkersburg **Glenville State College** Fairmont State University

Blue Ridge Community and Technical College Community and Technical College System of WV Eastern WV Community and Technical College West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission Pierpont Community & Technical College WVU Potomac State College

Emeritus Emeritus Executive Vice Chancellor for Administration, HEPC Vice Chancellor for Human Resources, HEPC Human Resources Specialist Senior, HEPC 1. Call to order

Chair Derrico determined there was a quorum and called the meeting to order at 9:00 am

- 2. Approval of Minutes There were no minutes to review.
- 3. Special Election
  - a. Joanne Miller of New River Community and Technical College has been promoted to a nonclassified position, creating a vacancy in the office of ACCE Secretary.
  - b. A motion was made and seconded to open nominations for Secretary. J. Christopher Gray from Southern West Virginia Community and Technical College was nominated, and Chair Derrico had confirmed prior to the meeting that Mr. Gray was willing to accept the nomination. A motion was made and seconded to close nominations for Secretary.
  - c. The ACCE voted by acclimation to elect J. Christopher Gray as Secretary.
- 4. Introductions No new members were present and in need of introductions at this meeting.
- 5. Committee Assignments -

ACCE members were assigned to the following committees:

a. Benefits – This committee could share PEIA and TIAA info and may wish to consult Bob Long and Carrie Watters as resources.

Chair: Dee Preston Members: Barb Sanders, Robin Yeager

- b. Student Advocacy This committee could focus on sharing suggestions and collecting success stories of staff at each campus supporting students or advocating for students; checking in on student personal needs (access for food pantries, clothes pantries, personal hygiene); monitoring proposed federal or state legislation that affects students. Chair: Yodev Ocasio Members: Teresa Meddings, Robin Yeager, Michele Lang, Lindsay Morgan
- c. Bylaws Review This committee could focus on having changes ready if §18B is opened or changed, as well as reviewing existing bylaws for any areas in need of updates. Ken Harbaugh may serve as a resource for this group.

Chair: Teresa Meddings Members: Dara Massey, Jane Fouty, Michael Casey, Amy Pitzer

d. Legislative – This committee will focus on monitoring proposed state and federal legislation which affects higher education and staff, developing a legislative agenda, and communicating with lawmakers on legislative issues. Ken Harbaugh may serve as a resource for this committee.

Chair: Amy Pitzer Members: Chris Gray, Barb Sanders, Shirley Robinson, Yodev Ocasio

e. Web – This committee will focus on maintaining the ACCE website, as well as creating publications/presentations/other media on behalf of the ACCE. Chair: Verne Britton Members: Shirley Robinson, Jane Fouty, Mary Beth Myers, Amy Pitzer

- f. Retreat This committee will focus on planning the annual July retreat as well as any other events deemed necessary by the ACCE.
  - Chair: Shirley Robinson Members: Lindsay Morgan, Erin Trump, Jane Fouty, Deirdre Guyton, Chris Gray
- 6. Campus Covid Updates
  - a. Ms. Pitzer shared that lawyers are making very clear that there is established case law showing it is legal for employers to require vaccination and masks.
  - b. The group discussed various protocols occurring on campuses including vaccination, masking, testing, and social distancing requirements. Many schools are offering vaccination clinics and requiring negative tests for those not providing proof of vaccination. Fairmont State offered optional badges for employees and students who provided proof of vaccination. Those with a vaccinated badge did not have to wear masks indoors. There were some problems with students trying to sell them. However, when the CDC map was orange/red, everyone had to wear masks again regardless of vaccination status, removing the incentive for employees and students to obtain the vaccinated badges.
- 7. Legislative Discussion

The legislative committee will finalize a list of concerns to present to Chancellor Tucker, and the response to that meeting may help solidify the plan of action to take to the legislature in fall interims.

- 8. New Business There was no new business to address.
- 9. The meeting was adjourned.

Minutes submitted by Jenna Derrico