Minutes October 24, 2012 Bridgemont Community and Technical College Montgomery, WV

ATTENDANCE:

Members in attendance:

Amy Pitzer, Concord University Mary Igo, New River Community and Technical College Melanie Whittington, Bridgemont Community and Technical College Ken Harbaugh, Shepherd University Robert Long, WV Higher Education Policy Commission Teri Wells, Southern West Virginia Community and Technical College Melanie Eberhart, West Virginia Northern Community College Verne Britton, WV Network for Educational Telecomputing Deborah Harvey, West Virginia School of Osteopathic Medicine Sherry Mitchell, Fairmont State University Carol Hurula, Marshall University William Porterfield, West Virginia State University Lee Ann Porterfield, Kanawha Valley Community and Technical College Timothy Beardsley, WVU at Parkersburg Johnna Beane, WVU Health Sciences Center - Charleston Division Mary Alltop, Glenville State College Fred Hardee, Bluefield State College Dixie Heavener, Potomac State College of WVU

Proxy:

Pam Shrader, Eastern West Virginia Community and Technical College for Lacey Koontz

Excused:

Paul Martinelli, West Virginia University Anne Wilmoth, Blue Ridge Community and Technical College Beverly Jones, Pierpont Community and Technical College Natasha Robinson, Mountwest Community and Technical College Mary Ann Edwards, West Liberty University Barbara Boyd, WVU Institute of Technology Lacey Koontz, Eastern West Virginia Community and Technical College Janene Seacrest, Council for Community and Technical College Education

CALL TO ORDER

Chairperson Amy Pitzer called the meeting to order at 9:00AM and a quorum was established.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Approval of the September minutes will be delayed until the November meeting.

UPDATE

Ms. Nauman did not attend the ACCE meeting. An update of the Thursday morning Executive Committee conference call with Ms. Nauman was provided by Ms. Amy Pitzer, Mr. Ken Harbaugh, Ms. Teri Wells, and Ms. Mary Igo. During those calls, Ms. Nauman would update on Fox Lawson, Modern Think, and the Emergency Rule.

Ms. Pitzer provided an update in regards to the Emergency Rule. She and Mr. Robert Long have been working alongside several Human Resource representatives from around the State. They have been working diligently on the Rule; however, it is difficult due to the fact that none of the deadlines from SB 330 have been met. At this point, there is not much time to get the Rule completed, sent out for comment, and turned into LOCEA for their December agenda.

COMMITTEE NOMINATIONS

Ms. Pitzer requested that ACCE nominate classified staff from the Commission and the Council institutions to serve on the Compensation Planning and Review Committee and the Job Classification Committee. These committees, which will be chosen by the Chancellor, will meet quarterly to discuss market adjustments, hierarchy and ranges/steps, percentage of market that is a fair market. At the time of her request, Ms. Pitzer did not have information concerning the Compensation Review Committee's role in creating a salary structure. She stated that the consultant could create the actual structure.

Mr. Ken Harbaugh made the motion that ACCE would return nominations for possible representatives of the Compensation and Classification Committees to Ms. Pitzer in 10 working days. The deadline would be November 7, 2012. Mr. Timothy Beardsley seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously.

ADDENDUM REQUEST

Mr. Ken Harbaugh motioned that ACCE Chair, Ms. Pitzer, request all addendums for the market study RFP as required by SB 330. There are concerns of the validity of the market study; therefore, a review of the RFP is warranted. Mr. Robert Long seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Robert Long brought to the attention of ACCE that Modern Think should be checking the non-classified employee's job descriptions. He also provided a formula for calculating non-classified employees based on the formula provided to Modern Think. The major concern in regards to this formula is the non-classified "return rights" in which those employees who were faculty and had return rights would not be counted correctly. He encouraged ACCE to ask the Human Resources Office for those non-classified employees who would have return rights as faculty. Also, he suggested that we ask how this is documented.

ACCE COMMITTEE ASSIGNMENTS

ACCE currently has the following committees: Benefits, Communication/Presentation, Legislative, Retreat, and Student Retention/Educate WV.

Before discussion of the committees started, Ms. Johnna Beane brought to the attention of ACCE that the Student Retention/Educate WV Committee had fulfilled its purpose and had disbanded. Mr. Ken Harbaugh made a motion to create a new standing committee to replace the ad-hoc Student Retention/Educate WV Committee. After some discussion, it was determined the name of the new committee would be Student and Employee Enrichment Committee. Mr. Timothy Beardsley seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Current ACCE committee memberships are as follows: Benefits Committee: Mr. William Porterfield, Ms. Sherry Mitchell, Mr. Fred Hardee, Mr. Paul Martinelli, Ms. Janene Seacrest, Ms. Mary Igo

Communication/Presentation Committee: Mr. Verne Britton, Ms. Johnna Beane, Ms. Melanie Eberhart, Ms. Melanie Whittington, Ms. Deborah Harvey, Ms. Mary Igo

Legislative Committee: Ms. Amy Pitzer, Mr. Ken Harbaugh, Mr. Robert Long, Ms. Carol Hurula, Mr. Timothy Beardsley, Ms. Teri Wells, Ms. Johnna Beane

Retreat Committee: Ms. Lee Ann Porterfield, Ms. Anne Wilmoth, Ms. Dixie Heavener, Ms. Beverly Jones, Ms. Natasha Robinson, Ms. Mary Igo, Ms. Teri Wells, Mr. Ken Harbaugh, Mr. Verne Britton

Student and Employee Enrichment Committee: Ms. Johnna Beane, Ms. Mary Alltop, Ms. Mary Ann Edwards, Ms. Barbara Boyd, Ms. Lacey Koontz, Ms. Sherry Mitchell, Mr. Timothy Beardsley

Following the assignments to the committees, Ms. Johnna Beane motioned that the Retreat Committee be renamed to Special Events Committee. Ms. Dixie Heavener seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Mr. Verne Britton will be updating the committee assignments and name changes on the ACCE website, <u>www.wvacce.org</u>.

PRESENTATION

The remaining time of the ACCE meeting was used to discuss the ACCE presentations to the Legislative Oversight Commission on Education Accountability (LOCEA), the Higher Education Policy Commission (HEPC), and the Council for Community and Technical College Education (CCTCE). Some of the points mentioned for use in the presentation were:

- Low employee morale
- Possible litigation due to lack of compliance with the law
- Costs associated with benefits (retirement)
- Employee retention
- Turnover rates and costs associated with training new staff
- Lack of credibility complacency no repercussions
- Lack of leadership
- Low quality due to poor customer service

The presentation will be a working document during the November meeting.

ADJOURNMENT

ACCE would like to thank Ms. Melanie Whittington and Bridgemont Community and Technical College for their hospitality in hosting the meeting. There being no further business to come before the Council, the meeting adjourned at 4:00PM.

Respectfully Submitted:

Teri Wells, ACCE Secretary